Q&A: Facebook deleted my personal account after I shared what I thought about Brexit

Question

Dear Sofie,

I used my personal Facebook account to share my thoughts about Brexit in the UK. For a few days now I haven’t been able to access my account at all.

Is there a risk that my comments were reported to Facebook and Facebook deleted my account because of them?

I was not the one sharing the worst comments out of my Facebook friends, some of my acquaintances were much ruder. It feels unfair that my account is gone and my acquaintances still have access.

I have years of memories saved on Facebook and it’s my address book as well, now it’s all gone. I was pretty proud of some of my comments and I was planning to collect them and put them into my blog, but hey, they are all gone now. 🙁

The thing that upsets me most is that I can’t access my messages. I had some messages there that were from my brother who is no longer with us, now I can’t go back and read them.

Is there anything I can do to get my Facebook account back?

Answer 

Plenty of accounts are deleted from Facebook all the time. If you have broken Facebook’s community guidelines your account may be deleted within 24 hours. If you commit a severe violation of the community guidelines your account will never be restored. In this case, it seems that it’s gone.

Hate speech that directly attacks people based on:

  • race,
  • ethnicity,
  • national origin,
  • religious affiliation,
  • sexual orientation,
  • sex, gender or gender identity, or
  • serious disabilities or diseases
READ MORE   Q&A: Social media, love and flirting

is not allowed. If you make that kind of attack you may never have access to your account again.

Facebook relies on its users to report hate speech on their platform. If someone has done that with your account then its content will be reviewed by the Facebook team. In Europe, new legislation says that the major social media platforms have to deal with hate speech within 24 hours.

If you are not sure you can follow the guidelines, to protect your account you can log in and save your data here:

www.facebook.com/settings

Click on: ’Download a copy of your Facebook data’.